In Latin America

Now on YouTube:

 

In this webinar, speakers discuss Milei’s election, his policies and its impact on Argentina and Latin America as a whole.

This webinar will take place on Saturday, April 6, 2024 at

  • 8 am Pacific
  • 10 am Central
  • 11 am Eastern
  • 3 pm UTC/GMT
  • 4 pm London
  • 8:30 pm New Delhi
  • 11 pm Beijing

Click here to register to attend and please share widely!

About this event

Just when even the strongest last bastions of neoliberalism, the US and the UK, have been forced by populist revolt to question at least some elements of neoliberal wisdom, Argentina has elected the most ideologically extreme neoliberal government. This webinar discusses key questions: What explains Milei’s election? What are his policies, exactly? Where will they lead Argentina? What does this mean for Latin America as a whole?

Speakers

  • Ariela Ruiz Caro, Moderator obtained her degree in Economics from Humboldt University of Berlin and holds a master’s degree in Economic Integration Processes from the University of Buenos Aires. She has been an international consultant on trade, integration and natural resources issues at ECLAC, Latin American Economic System (SELA), Institute for the Integration of Latin America and the Caribbean (INTAL), among others. She worked in the Andean Community between 1985 and 1994, and as an advisor to the Commission of Permanent Representatives of MERCOSUR between 2006 and 2008, and Economic Attaché of the Embassy of Peru in Argentina between 2010 and 2015. She is an analyst for the Americas Program for the Andean/Southern Cone region.
  • Oscar Ugarteche is a tenured researcher at the Institute of Economic Research of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM). He is a member of CONACYT’s National System of Researchers and has been awarded several prizes and recognitions throughout his career, including the National University Prize for Economic Research in 2021.
  • Alicia Puyana is an Oxford University D, Phil economist and economics professor at the Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales FLACSO in Mexico were she teaches macro economics and international economic relations. She has specialized in the effects of trade agreements on growth, inequality and poverty. Her ongoing research project is neo extractivismo and structural change and her recent publications are: Ideas towards a new international financial architecture?
  • Claudio Katz is a research professor at the University of Buenos Aires in Argentina. He is the author of numerous books and articles on economics, politics, and Latin American society. His views are synthesized in Neoliberalismo, neo-desarrollismo, socialismo.
  • Atilio Borón – Atilio Borón received a PhD from Harvard University. He worked as a Professor of Political Science at the Latin American Social Sciences Institute and at the University of Buenos Aires. He also served as Secretary General of CLACSO, an academic umbrella body for Latin America. In 2005, he signed the World Social Forum’s Porto Alegre Manifesto.  In 2009 he received the International José Martí Prize from UNESCO for his contribution to integration of Latin American and Caribbean countries.

Sponsor

International Manifesto Group

 

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search